Blog > Instagram > What Does CF Mean on Instagram

What Does CF Mean on Instagram

It has become crucial to keep up with Instagram slang for understanding and interacting with your Insta-community. CF is not just any common slang abbreviation but also stands for a certain handy feature.  

Have you ever seen CF pop up in Instagram posts, messages, comments, or captions and wondered what it meant? In this article, you will get all the information related to CF. 

What does CF mean on Instagram? 

On Instagram, CF means Close Friends. 

Close Friends was introduced by Instagram in 2018. This feature allows you to select some specific friends from your followers’ list and mark them as Close Friends. These friends will be able to view your exclusive content which you don’t mean for everyone’s consumption.

They can check out Close Friends’ Stories or certain posts and comment on them. 

It is a great way to interact privately with a bunch of people close to you. It helps share updates with friends without broadcasting them to your complete Followers List. 

Abbreviation 

Meaning

Use

CF

Close Friends

Instagram Feature

 

Safe for Work

Safe for Children

Yes

Yes

 

Year it began trending

Primary Community

2018

Social Media

 

How to Set Up a Close Friends List?

  • Go to your Instagram Profile
  • Click or tap on three lines on the top right corner which will take you to Profile Settings and Activity
  • Here you will find a Close Friends option under who can see your content.

You will find a list of suggested friends that you can add to your Close Friends list. If someone you want to add is not on the suggested list, you can use the search bar to find and choose their profile. These suggestions are based on your interactions with different accounts. 

If you haven’t set up a Close Friends list before, you will receive a ‘Get Started’ button, which will guide you and give more information and uses for the Close Friends feature. 

Once you click done, your close friends list gets saved. You can always add or remove people from this list later on. This feature is most used by Instagram users to upload personal stories or content exclusively for close friends. 

Here is how you can upload a Close Friends Story. 

How to Upload a Close Friends Story?

A Close Friends story is very similar to a normal Instagram story. 

  • Tap or click on the ‘Your Story’ button on your profile picture, in the stories bar. 
  • Choose ‘Story’ from the slider. 
  • After this, choose an image or video from your phone, or create an image or video instantaneously. 
  • Once you have edited the media and it is ready to upload, you will see an option between ‘Your Story’ and ‘Close Friends’ with a green circle next to it. 
  • Select the Close Friends option and you’re good to go. 

Close Friends Stories will disappear after 24 hours just like a normal Instagram story. You can also highlight Close Friends Stories and anyone who you add to the Close Friends’ List be able to view them. 

To know more about the latest slang and abbreviations such as SMT, visit Popularity Bazaar. 

Article by

Rishasri Kashy
I am a dedicated writer with two years of experience at PopularityBazaar. My focus on creative storytelling and insightful analysis has allowed me to connect with readers on a meaningful level, enhancing their understanding of key topics. My work continues to evolve as I explore new themes and ideas.

Read next

0
    Cart
    Your cart is empty